Social Security Agreements and special arrangements with Pacific countries

New Zealand has bilateral social security agreements with several countries. Each agreement enables New Zealanders access to certain benefits or pensions when moving to these countries and allows for similar entitlements to people who move to New Zealand from these countries


These pages are guides only. Contact International Services for more information

These guides give details on how to get New Zealand benefits or pensions if you've resided in countries that have social security agreements or special agreements with New Zealand.

Countries New Zealand has a social security agreement with

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Jersey
  • Guernsey
  • Greece
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom


New Zealand and South Korea have also signed a social security agreement. This will take effect in 2022.


For more information about other countries

Please contact our International Services Team